7/26/17

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


34225450Title: If There's No Tomorrow
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Release Date: September 5th, 2017

Lena Wise is always looking forward to tomorrow, especially at the start of her senior year. She's ready to pack in as much friend time as possible, to finish college applications and to maybe let her childhood best friend, Sebastian, know how she really feels about him. For Lena, the upcoming year is going to be one of opportunities and chances.
Until one choice, one moment, destroys everything.
Now Lena isn't looking forward to tomorrow. Not when friend time may never be the same. Not when college applications feel all but impossible. Not when Sebastian could never forgive her for what happened.
For what she let happen.
With the guilt growing each day, Lena knows that her only hope is to move on. But how can she move on when tomorrow isn't even guaranteed?
I am not even sure why I keep putting JLA on here. I can't keep up with her writing. She turns out books way faster than I can read them. But none the less, this is going in my TBR pile.


3/20/17

Where Have I Been?

Well, that is a VERY good question. And truth be told, I have no idea where I have been. Life kind of caught up with me and I realized I didn't have any more posts schedule nor have I posted any comments or even read any reviews. Hell, I haven't picked up a book in like 2 weeks.

I don't want to make excuses, but I have changed jobs recently. And working around that is hard, but that didn't stop me from binge watching shows on netflix and hulu. I fell into a slump again, but I am determined to get out of it. I will go back to posting the weekly memes and reviews on Thursday hopefully. I just thought I'd stop in and give a quick update.

2/23/17

A World Without You by Beth Revis Review


Before I go into this review, I have to say this. I recommend going into this book completely blind, without knowing anything about it. But if you are like me and can't do that, keep reading for my review.




27272505Title: A World Without You
Author: Beth Revis

Publisher: Razorbill
Format: Hardback 

Publication Date: July 16th, 2016
What if finding her means losing himself?

Seventeen-year-old Bo has always had delusions that he can travel through time. When he was ten, Bo claimed to have witnessed the Titanic hit an iceberg, and at fifteen, he found himself on a Civil War battlefield, horrified by the bodies surrounding him. So when his worried parents send him to a school for troubled youth, Bo assumes he knows the truth: that he’s actually attending Berkshire Academy, a school for kids who, like Bo, have “superpowers.”

At Berkshire, Bo falls in love with Sofía, a quiet girl with a tragic past and the superpower of invisibility. Sofía helps Bo open up in a way he never has before. In turn, Bo provides comfort to Sofía, who lost her mother and two sisters at a very young age.

But even the strength of their love isn’t enough to help Sofía escape her deep depression. After she commits suicide, Bo is convinced that she’s not actually dead. He believes that she’s stuck somewhere in time—that he somehow left her in the past, and that now it’s his job to save her. And as Bo becomes more and more determined to save Sofía, he must decide whether to face his demons head-on or succumb to a psychosis that will let him be with the girl he loves.

Bo, a time traveler, has lost his girlfriend somewhere in the past and everyone in his present thinks she is dead. He attends a school for special kids, kids with powers. Though, their powers don't really help a lot and nobody other than them seem to know they have them. We follow Bo and Pheobe, his sister, and hear two different versions of the same place. Bo thinks he has a super power that lets him time travel and that he is at the school so he can help control it. Phoebe knows that Bo is at a school for trouble teens. Bo thinks his girlfriend got lost in the past because he took her back to 1692. Phoebe attended the memorial and read the article about how Sofia committed suicide. Is Bo seeing reality? Is Phoebe just not listening?

I can already tell you know this will be my favorite book of that year. I loved this book so much. The character Bo was great. Inside his head you, the reader, start to wonder if it is all real. Heck, I ended the book not knowing if he could really travel through time or not. Because that last page leaves you wondering. And then we get to see it through his sister's eyes and how violent Bo had been and how scared she was. When we see through Bo's eyes you wouldn't think he could be violent.

The other characters were amazing as well. I can't even say I have a favorite. I loved Harold, and if you read the book you are probably wondering how I liked this character. Because, you see, Harold talks to ghosts. Which, in reality, he hears voices and talks about the darkness more than once. I also loved Ryan. Ryan wasn't a nice person and him as a person isn't what I liked. I liked his disorder and how this book gave me a chance to see it. I was a psychology major for a little bit and this kind of stuff draws me in. I also loved the Doctor. Part of me would really like a short story or novella through his POV. At first we see him as the leader, teaching them how to control their powers, because he too, has one. He can heal himself. But as we see more and more, you see that he really cares and is trying to help these kids. I am sorry, I am rambling, but I have another paragraph of likes and I swear I am done.

The whole thing was just written beautifully and I expected nothing less from Beth Revis. I loved Across the Universe and this one didn't disappoint one bit. Reading some other reviews I see people complaining about this not being a sci-fy book. In a way, I disagree. Bo takes you with him as he travels back in time, weather it be in his head or read, it is real to him and for that time the reader.  And through his POV we get to see the other classmates powers as well. A girl goes invisable, another girl can start fire, Ryan can levitate things, Harold can talk to the dead, and Bo can time travel. So in that sense, yes it is sci-fy.


Overall I gave this book a 5/5 stars. Again, I loved this book so much. I would recommend this to anyone that likes YA and is interested in mental disorders. Heck, I would recommended it even if you don't.

Beth Revis
Find Beth Revis online:
Buy A World Without You online:




2/22/17

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


29772434Title: Till Death
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Release Date: February 28th, 2017
It’s been ten years since Sasha Keaton left her West Virginia hometown . . . since she escaped the twisted serial killer known as the Groom. Returning to help run her family inn means being whole again, except for one missing piece. The piece that falls into place when Sasha’s threatened—and FBI agent Cole Landis vows to protect her the way he couldn’t a decade ago.

First one woman disappears; then another, and all the while, disturbing calling cards are left for the sole survivor of the Groom’s reign of terror. Cole’s never forgiven himself for not being there when Sasha was taken, but he intends to make up for it now . . . because under the quirky sexiness Cole first fell for is a steely strength that only makes him love Sasha more.

But someone is watching. Waiting. And Sasha’s first mistake could be her last.
Wow, this one sounds... intense. I love Jennifer L. Armentrout so much and her stories are usually great, so hopefully this one is just as good.


2/20/17

Women's History Month Readathon




So March is National Women’s History Month in America. To honor and celebrate this, we are having a readathon. This readathon will be going through the first two weeks of March. So March 1st - March 14th. We will be reading books where women shine, like strong female characters and books where women strive.

This readathon is open to everyone, so if you aren’t in America or you aren’t a female, feel free to join!

I will be doing a post on recommendations of books you could read for this readathon later this week, so keep an eye out for that. Just in case you need any help picking out the books or maybe want to find something new.

This is going to be a very active readathon. I have challenges listed below and will have fun little things to do throughout the readathon. I will also be hosting reading sprints on twitter (follow me @BrittneyReads90). These are optional, you do not have to do these to do the readathon.

There isn’t a set number of books that is required during this readathon.  But there will be a point system. System and prizes blow.

Point System:
A non-fiction about a woman in history written by the woman - 10 points (example: Anne Frank)
A non-fiction about a woman in history written by someone else - 9 Points
A non-fiction about a woman in present day - 7 Points
A fiction set in an important time in women’s history - 8 Points
A fiction about a woman in history - 8 Points
A fiction about a woman making history - 6 Points (This can be a dystopian about a girl making history in her own world. Example: Tris or Katniss)
A book with a strong female character - 5 Points


I am not going to have places. So for the three with the most points will get advertising on my book blog(Reviews from a Dreamer) and my twitter. This can be your blog, your wattpad story, anything you might want to draw people’s attention to. If you are on Wattpad, I will also read, vote and comment on a story of your choice.



The challenges are:


  • Read a diverse book where main character is female.
  • Read where the woman overcame something physical
  • Read where the woman overcame something mentally
  • Read a book with a woman on the cover
We will be using the hashtag #WHR17. So if you are joining us you can you that hashtag so I can see and please feel free to comment. I will also have an official linky on my blog (adreamerreviews.blogsport.com) , if you aren’t reading this on my personal book blog, that you can sign up with.

2/16/17

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover Review


24445517Title: Maybe Someday
Author: Colleen Hoover 

Publisher: Atria Books
Format: Paperback  
Publication Date: March 18th, 2015
Sydney is living in an idyllic bubble—she's a dedicated student with a steady job on the side. She lives with her best friend, has a great boyfriend, and the music coming from the balcony opposite hers is fast becoming the soundtrack to her life. But when Sydney finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her, the bubble bursts. The mysterious and attractive man behind the music, Ridge, gives Sydney hope that she can move on and they begin to write songs together. But moving on is harder than she expects, Sydney can only hope….

Maybe someday…

Colleen Hoover draws you in to this passionate tale of music, love and betrayal…


Finding out that your boyfriend is cheating on you is bad. When it is with your bestfriend and roommate, it only makes it worse. Then, on top of that, on your birthday. Then, for the cherry on top, you find out through a guy you don’t even know that lives across from you. This is Sydney’s reality. So out a best friend and boyfriend, and really not wanting to run to her closed minded parents, she stays with the stranger that told her about the cheating. What could possibly go wrong?

Going to start this review off by saying that I knew going into this book that I would probably put it down. I didn’t want to not like a Colleen Hoover book, so I tried it. But I will get into that more in my dislikes. For the things I liked in this book? Ridge. He is deaf and he signs which I love. I am currently learning ASL, and even though Hoover could put more signs into the book, it was still nice to see. And the writing. As always, Colleen Hoover is amazing with words. That wasn’t the issue.

And yes, there was an issue. Warning, there is a spoiler ahead, so if you don’t want to know stop here. I mean it, like stop reading now. Just skip to the bottom. There is cheating in this book from the main character Sydney. Ridge has a girlfriend, Sydney knows, and things still happen. I just can’t. I know things aren’t always black and white, but that is a subject I refuse to sympathize with. If he had broken up with his girlfriend before, or heck even after the first kiss, maybe I could have moved passed it. But he didn’t. I didn’t stick around long enough to read why “he couldn’t” break up with Maggie and I didn’t care. If he couldn’t break up with her, Sydney should have figured out other living arrangements after the first incident. Another problem I had with this book was her name. Sydney is so overused in New Adult books.

Overall I gave this book 2 out of 5 stars. Originally it was 1.5, but I really do love Colleen Hoover. I am not saying you wouldn’t like this book. I didn’t like this book, and put it down half at 70%, due to my feelings on cheating. Even though I gave this book a low rating, I will read Maybe Not. I did really like the minor characters in this book.

Colleen Hoover
Find Colleen Hovoer online:
Buy Unremembered online:




2/15/17

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


28226839Title: Violet Grenade
Author: Victoria Scott

Release Date: May 2nd, 2017
DOMINO: A runaway with blood on her hands.

CAIN: A silent boy about to explode.

MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.

WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.

When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave. It’ll be harder than she thinks, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind.

Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.
Why am I waiting? The author's name says it all. I adore Victoria Scott's writing. And I could go into this not knowing anything about it and still be happy with the author.


2/11/17

Bookentine 2017 TBR










Bookentine 2017 is being hosted by Tea & Titles and it is a genre specific readathon. This readathon goes from Feb. 13th - 20th and it is a Contemporary readathon. The definition they gave for a Contemporary book was this: 
"a story about a teenage character that takes place in our current time and deals with the concerns of modern day life."

There are also three challenges:

Read a book with red and/or pink on the cover,
Read a book by an author you haven’t read before,
Read a book featuring mental illness or disability.

So here is my TBR:


1. Amy and Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
7664334 
This is actually the group pick for the Valentine Bookathon and when I posted my TBR for that I didn't think I was going to be able to get to it. But since these two overlap by a day, I am really hoping I can squeeze this in on the 13 to end that one well and to start this one well. So, fingers crossed! This is also going to be for the challenge of the author I haven't read before.
20698530
Simply because I need to read this book. I got this the day it came out and still haven't read it. I LOVED the first one and have started this one several times and had to put it down for numerous reasons. 
13589139
I know nothing about this book besides the fact that it YA Contemp. It was the first contemp. on my shelf that I came to with a pink cover. So this is for that challenge.
  


23341894
This is only if I can find this book. My library hasn't had it since it came out and neither has any of the book stores around here. Hopefully it pops up at my used bookstore soon, otherwise I might just break down and buy it for the kindle, though I would prefer to read this in physical copy. This will be for the challenge a book featuring mental illness or disability.


25663637

This one is if I don't get Every Last Word. I, myself, suffer from bipolar disorder and haven't read anything featuring bipolar. I am always afraid that I will get upset at how wrong they get it, but I do love Emery Lord and this book sounds great. So, if I don't get to Every Last Word, this one will be my book featuring mental illness or disability.


So the 13th-20th is one week. I have 4 books above that I will be reading, but if by some miracle I get through all of those, here are some that I might get to.

 187102091839249522718685




If I finish 4 I will probably only start one of the ones above, but those are the ones I will be picking from. Are you participating in the Boonentine Readathon? Link your TBR posts/videos!

2/9/17

Unremembered by Jessica Brody Review


16005219Title: Unremembered
Author: Jessica Brody  
Publisher: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux  
Format: Paperback  
Publication Date: March 5th, 2015
The only thing worse than forgetting her past . . . is remembering it. When Freedom Airlines flight 121 went down over the Pacific Ocean, no one ever expected to find survivors. Which is why the sixteen-year-old girl discovered floating among the wreckage—alive—is making headlines across the globe. Even more strange is that her body is miraculously unharmed and she has no memories of boarding the plane. She has no memories of her life before the crash. She has no memories period. No one knows how she survived. No one knows why she wasn’t on the passenger manifest. And no one can explain why her DNA and fingerprints can’t be found in a single database in the world. Crippled by a world she doesn’t know, plagued by abilities she doesn’t understand, and haunted by a looming threat she can’t remember, Seraphina struggles to piece together her forgotten past and discover who she really is. But with every clue only comes more questions. And she’s running out of time to answer them. Her only hope is a strangely alluring boy who claims to know her from before the crash. Who claims they were in love. But can she really trust him? And will he be able to protect her from the people who have been making her forget? From popular young adult author Jessica Brody comes a compelling and suspenseful new sci-fi series, set in a world where science knows no boundaries, memories are manipulated, and true love can never be forgotten.


What would you do if you woke up one day and didn’t remember a thing? What if you woke up in a hospital and were told that you were the only survivor of a plane crash?. That is the reality for a certain “Jane Doe” that we follow throughout  Unremembered by Jessica Brody.

The hospital names her Violet, because of her beautiful, yet unnatural violet eyes. Violet doesn't remember anything. Not even the things she should remember, like TV or an airplane. Her first memory is of water, the second is a dream of a boy breaking into her room and trying to kidnap her.

When she recovered, she’s released from the hospital and placed in foster care. Before she leaves, the doctor reassures her that her memory could all come back to her very soon and to call him if she remembers anything.

When Violet’s foster Mom takes her shopping to for new clothes, the boy from her dream shows up in her dressing room. Startling her, he tells her he knows who she is and that she is in grave danger. Together, they escaped from a lab, a lab where she was created. The scientists from the lab are looking for her. Desperately hoping she believes him, he gives her a place to meet him. How is a person supposed to react to this? Is this boy crazy or could he possibly be telling the truth?

I loved Violet's character. She might not be all that logical at times, but she’s such a strong heroine. She puts the ones that she has come to love first over her own happiness. She makes sacrifices that seem unimaginable just so the people she has only known for a short time can be safe. It is really heartwarming. I also can't forget about Zen. Even though Violet can't remember him and fights off his help so many times, he never gives up on saving her. He shows us how strong true love can actually be. What’s more, he recites poetry. Who doesn't love a guy that can do that?

I loved Jessica Brody’s writing style. I can honestly say there isn’t anything I would change about it. The story had a great flow, and I couldn’t put it down until I was done. However, I did find it to be predictable at times. The ending wasn’t for me either.

Overall I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend Unremembered to someone that is looking for a good sci-fy young adult read.

Jessica Brody
Find Jessica Brody online:
Buy Unremembered online:

2/8/17

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


33643994Title: Daughter of the Pirate King
Author: Tricia Levenseller

Release Date: February 28th, 2017
A 17-year-old pirate captain intentionally allows herself to get captured by enemy pirates in this thrilling YA adventure.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

Debut author Tricia Levenseller blends action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of magic into a thrilling YA pirate tale.
I haven't really read many pirate books. This one looks so great and the best part, I don't think it is a retelling! Not that I don't love retellings, but lately it is like all new books are.