12/29/15

12/28/15

Kanin Chronicles Trilogy Review

18105451Title: The Kanin Chronicles
Author: Amanda Hocking
Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes.

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who's determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She's not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?

This is a review of the entire trilogy. I only put the summary of book one so it wouldn't spoil anything for those who haven't read it.




12/22/15

12/16/15

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



25785357Title: Firstlife
Author:Gena Showalter
Publication Date: Feb. 26th, 2015
ONE CHOICE.

TWO REALMS.

NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…



https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24733600-the-masked-truth


Why I Am Waiting...

I LOVE Gena Showalter, she is one of my favorite authors. This book sounds amazing!

12/15/15

Top Ten Tuesday









Top Ten Characters Books I Have Read In 2015

Meme hosted by: The Broke and Bookish


This one is kind of tough. I have only read about 30 books this year, 20 short of the 50 that was my goal. So picking 10 might not be easy. This isn't in order of best to worst, just in the order I read them.


18746546
1. Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole
It was one of the first books I read this year, picking it up the day it came out, but it was by far the best. I love this series and I love Cole's writing style. It is beautiful and I can't wait until the next book.





18689829

2. Magnolia by Kristi Cook

 This one surprised me. I picked it up after seeing Thoughts of Tomes review on youtube, just because I needed something to read. It was great. It is beautifully written and I loved the story and the characters!





20821111

3. The Young Elites

I listened to this book while I was on light duty for work. It was amazing, but I think it was the audio that made it so great for me. If you haven't read this book, or even if you have, I suggest getting the audiobook to go along with it.




22557520

4.After by Anna Todd

This book was my downfall, reading wise. After reading this book I HAD to go check it out of wattpad. While I was there I ended up reading more fanfiction and got sucked in. But this book is one of my favorite books period.


24920901


5. The Deal by Elle Kennedy

Words can't explain how much I love this book.




18105451

6. Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

This is one of the best YA series I have read. The writing is amazing and the story keeps you plowing through all three books.



20945757

7, 8, 9. 2B Trilogy by Ann Aguirre

I read this complete series, so I guess this goes for 7 8 and 9. They were all equally great.

 

 

20640755 

10. The Book Of Ivy

This is the book I have read most recently, but it has to be the best YA book I have read all year, apart from the Kanin Chronicles. 



12/12/15

Stacking the Shelves!


Weekly meme hosted over at Tynga's Reviews.

Not very many. Christmas is coming up, so I try not to get a lot of books for myself around this time of year.



17788401
Title: Ugly Love
Author:Colleen Hoover
When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.



16115038
Title: Grim
Author: Various
Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today:

Ellen Hopkins
Amanda Hocking
Julie Kagawa
Claudia Gray
Rachel Hawkins
Kimberly Derting
Myra McEntire
Malinda Lo
Sarah Rees-Brennan
Jackson Pearce
Christine Johnson
Jeri Smith Ready
Shaun David Hutchinson
Saundra Mitchell
Sonia Gensler
Tessa Gratton
Jon Skrovon



22609310Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin


 



22609080
Title: After We Fell
Author: Anna Tood
This is the third book in the series, so I will not be putting the summary or the link to this book here.
















12/11/15

The Book of Ivy Review


20640755Title: The Book of Ivy
Author: Amy Engel
Publisher: Entangled Teen
After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him…

Wow, I didn't expect to like this book as much as I did. It has been sitting on my shelf forever. I needed something to read and asked my boyfriend to pick a number and when I counted on my bookshelf, this was the book he had picked. And I am really glad he did, because if not, I probably would have never picked it up and that would have been a shame. Because it was fantastic!




12/10/15

Entangled Teen Wishlist

There are SO MANY good books from Entangled Teen, but I have narrowed my wishlist down to five. And they are the following:

25209521

1. Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout


Now, I am only on Opal, but I LOVE this series and the author. I have read several books by her and she is simply amazing, though I can never put my finger on why. This book is told from Deamon's POV during the first book.



23198876


2. The Revolution of Ivy

 (Clicking the title to this one will take you to the goodreads page for the first book, considering this is the second book in the series.)

I am actually currently reading The Book of Ivy and I really am enjoying it. I know once I finish I won't be able to wait to pick up the next book!





17669243

3. Thief of Lies


I haven't heard anything about this book. I found it while looking at the Entangled Teen website and looked it up and it sounds amazing!



25967369

4. Paint My Body Red


I love mental health issues, which this book is labeled on Goodreads. It also sounds like a mystery.



18593725

5. Will The Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up?


A kickboxer gets to be a stunt double? Yes, please! Kickboxing is something I love and I also love seeing the other side of fame. So this book is bound to be great.

10/31/15

Alice in Zombieland Review!



11300302Title: Alice in Zombieland
Author: Gena Sowlater
She won't rest until she's sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. But that's all it takes. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real.

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn't careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies.

Happy Halloween! To celebrate my favorite holiday I thought I would do something I hadn't done in awhile! POST A REVIEW! This was on my Halloween TBR last year and I just didn't get around to it, but I am glad I finally did this year.




So this is a 3.5 stars for me.

I am going to be honest, here. I seriously considered putting this book down during the first 150 pages. In my opinion, those were eye rolling worthy. I thought we were headed toward an insta-love situation.



10/14/15

Spooktacular Giveaway Hop!



I am giving away a $25 gift card from amazon.

Happy Halloween!

I will be contacting the winner and getting the gift card out to them soon!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

9/23/15

Waiting On Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
The Masked Truth


Title: The Masked Truth
Author: Kelly Armstrong
Publication Date: October 13th, 2015

Riley Vasquez is haunted by the brutal murder of the couple she was babysitting for.

Max Cross is suffering under the shadow of a life-altering diagnosis he doesn’t dare reveal.

The last thing either of them wants is to spend a weekend away at a therapy camp alongside five other teens with “issues.” But that’s exactly where they are when three masked men burst in to take the group hostage.

The building has no windows. The exits are sealed shut. Their phones are gone. And their captors are on a killing spree.

Riley and Max know that if they can’t get out, they’ll be next—but they’re about to discover that even escape doesn’t equal freedom.



https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24733600-the-masked-truth


Why I Am Waiting...



I love Kelley Armstrong! This book is so different than anything I have read by her, though, so I really want to see how she does with something like this.

9/22/15

Top Ten Tuesday








Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read list

Meme hosted by: The Broke and Bookish

 

Not going to lie, A LOT of these books are books from last years list that I never got around to!

 

 

1.The Fall



This was number one on my TBR LAST time I did this TTT and it is still here. I actually picked it up and had to put it down. I picked it up again during the summer, but it is NOT a summer read. So I want to get to it this fall, because if I remember right, what I did read was really good!


Enshadowed (Nevermore, #2)

2. Enshadowed


I loved the first book so much. It has to be, hands down, my top five favorite ever. And I had this book and was planning to dive in right after, but never did. I picked up another book and this got pushed to the side. And here I am, a year later, and still haven't read it. Hopefully I will get to this one and Oblivion in October.


9/18/15

Deal Breakers Review


25721926Title: Deal Breakers
Author: Laura Lee
Publication Date: September 1, 2015
Source: Netgalley
How were they supposed to know that one night would change everything?

Devyn has life all mapped out. She just needs to accomplish one more thing before graduating college and becoming a full-fledged adult—lose her virginity. And who better to assist her than her best friend, Riley?

Riley is the self-proclaimed king of fling. His college years have been filled with meaningless hookups until the one night that ruined him for all other women. The one night he spends with his best friend, Devyn. Right before he screws it all up.

Balls to the wall, baby!

Now five years later, Riley is determined to atone for his mistakes and prove that he can be the man that Devyn deserves. Little does he know that Devyn’s been keeping a secret from him all these years. A big secret. Now he has to figure out how to win back the only girl he’s ever loved while navigating the pitfalls of her unexpected revelation.




9/16/15

Waiting on Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

23846013

Title: The Rose Society
Author: Marie Lu
Publication Date: October 13th, 2015
Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers that murdered her love, the Crown Prince Enzo Valenciano.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?


Why I Am Waiting...



I listened to the first one when I was on light duty at work earlier this year and LOVED it. I can't wait to get my hands on this one. Marie Lu is just amazing and the story isn't like any other YA novel I have ever read. It is a lot darker than I thought, but I love it!

9/15/15

Series Update

Last year I made a blog post about my unfinished series. I had wanted to finish the series by this time this year. Well, that didn't happen. Not even close, either. I am here to give an updated list and hopefully have better luck this time around.

The name of the series is in bold and listed are the books I still have left it them. I have crossed off ones that I had read from my last update. Not very many, sadly.

4/22/15

Waiting on Wednesay

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



23361244Title: Lying Out Loud
Author: Kody Keplinger
Publication Date: April 28th, 2015
Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar. She lies about her dad being in prison. She lies about her mom kicking her out. And she lies about sneaking into her best friend's house every night because she has nowhere else to go.

Amy Rush might be the only person Sonny shares everything with -- secrets, clothes, even a nemesis named Ryder Cross.

Ryder's the new kid at Hamilton High and everything Sonny and Amy can't stand -- a prep-school snob. But Ryder has a weakness: Amy. So when Ryder emails Amy asking her out, the friends see it as a prank opportunity not to be missed.

But without meaning to, Sonny ends up talking to Ryder all night online. And to her horror, she realizes that she might actually like him. Only there's one small catch: he thinks he's been talking to Amy. So Sonny comes up with an elaborate scheme to help Ryder realize that she's the girl he's really wanted all along. Can Sonny lie her way to the truth, or will all her lies end up costing her both Ryder and Amy?
 

The DUFF was great and I love the writing style of Kody Keplinger. I am actually really really excited for this one!

4/9/15

Between Now and Never Blog Tour

 
Between Now & Never
Between now and neverBetween Now and Never by Laura Johnston Buh boom, buh boom. My heart thrusts with a force that takes me by surprise. Telling me something I don’t understand. A splitting pain, a longing to slip back under. They tell me I was in a hit-and-run, but I can’t remember what happened that night. All I know is that I woke up with pictures in my pocket, a card from one of those photo booths in the mall. And I’m in the pictures. Cody Rush. Me and… Julianna. Her brother was there that night, and my dad, the FBI agent, was the one who put her mom behind bars. What’s the connection? And why won’t Julianna talk to me now? Somehow, she holds the key to it all, and getting close–real close—to her for the answers I need will be no hardship at all…
add to goodreads


Excerpt —
JULIANNA
We listen to the monotone voice reel off instructions. Four pictures. A light will flash before each picture is taken. Etcetera. How I ended up in this position I’m not sure. We both sit, staring at our reflections on the dark plastic and, no doubt, both stuck on the same thought that crosses everyone’s mind when they’re on this seat.
“Quick,” I say, “what should we do?”
A flash of light. Picture one down. Both of our mouths were hanging open, blank stares straight ahead.
We burst into laughter and can’t stop. A second flash. Picture number two: both of us laughing.
Our gazes meet and we pull ourselves together, his eyes never veering from mine. He leans toward me, coming halfway before pausing, his eyes seeking permission. I regard him with equal parts terror and anticipation, the intimacy of the situation whispering a thrill. He closes the distance between us and glides his nose through my hair. My heart rattles around as though this is the first boy I’ve ever been close to.
“Now smile,” he whispers into my ear. Even if I should be creeped out, forget it. My cheeks burn despite myself and I feel the corners of my lips tugging upward. A flash of light signals the third picture and I am totally seduced.

Praise for Between Now & Never “A romance that will keep teens turning pages.” ~ Janette Rallison "This was a lot different than I was expecting and I was honestly surprised with how much I enjoyed it. The cover led me to believe this would be a cute, love story but it was a suspenseful and gripping read." ~ Review from Goodreads “Best book I read all year! On the edge of your seat suspense, heartwarming romance, and characters to cheer for—Between Now and Never is one you won’t want to miss.” ~Kelly Nelson, author of The Keeper’s Saga "I had the privilege to read BETWEEN NOW AND NEVER when it was in manuscript form. I loved loved loved it from page one! Laura Johnson is such a talented author -- really looking forward to reading more of her work!" ~Kay Lynn Mangum, author of The Secret Journal of Brett Colton   Laura Rewind to You AuthorAuthor Laura Johnston Laura Johnston lives in Utah with her husband and two children. Growing up with five siblings, a few horses, peach trees, beehives and gardens, she developed an active imagination and always loved a good story. She fell in love with the young adult genre both through her experience in high school as well as her job later as a high school teacher. Laura enjoys running, playing tennis, sewing, traveling, writing, and above all, spending time with her husband and kids.
$25 Blog Tour giveaway Blog Tour Giveaway $25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 4/26/15 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

3/24/15

The Body Institute Cover Reveal!

21466668
The Body Institute
Release Date: 09/01/15
Entangled Teen

Summary from Goodreads:
Meet Morgan Dey, one of the top teen Reducers at The Body Institute.

Thanks to cutting-edge technology, Morgan can temporarily take over another girl’s body, get her in shape, and then return to her own body—leaving her client slimmer, more toned, and feeling great. Only there are a few catches...</ span>

For one, Morgan won’t remember what happens in her “Loaner” body. Once she’s done, she won’t recall walks with her new friend Matt, conversations with the super-cute Reducer she’s been text-flirting with, or the uneasy feeling she has that the director of The Body Institute is hiding something. Still, it’s all worth it in the name of science. Until the glitches start...

Suddenly, residual memories from her Loaner are cropping up in Morgan’s mind. She’s feeling less like herself and more like someone else. And when protests from an anti–Body Institute organization threaten her safety, she’ll have to decide if being a Reducer is worth the cost of her body and soul...</ div>


Carol  RiggsAbout the Author
I'm a YA writer represented by Kelly Sonnack of Andrea Brown Literary. My sci-fi novel THE BODY INSTITUTE explores the themes of society, identity, and body image. I live in the beautiful, green state of Oregon and have a Studio Arts degree; I'm an SCBWI member. 

You'll usually find me in my writing cave, surrounded by my dragon collection and the characters in my head. I also enjoy reading--mostly young adult novels--as well as drawing, painting, and quilting. I also attend writing conferences, walk with my husband, and enjoy music and dance of all kinds. </ o:p>





Cover Reveal Organized by: