1/31/17

Archie Volume 2 Review


https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51WjNqcD09L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgTitle: Archie Vol. 2
Author: Mark Waid
Publisher: Archie Comics
Format: Ebook
Publication Date: December 20th, 20121th, 2016
The all-new ARCHIE adventure continues! Superstar writer Mark Waid teams up with the best and brightest artists in comics to bring a modern take to the legendary Riverdale cast of characters. The book will captures the bite and hilarious edge of Archie's original tales in a modern, forward-looking manner, while still retaining the character's all-ages appeal. If classic Archie is a Saturday morning cartoon, this new series is prime time!

  



 You can find my review for Volume 1 HERE.

I don't want to spoil anything, so I am skipping the description for this review. If you would like to hear about this series and haven't started, just click that link above and it will take you to my first review.

I actually read these as individual issues. Archie Comics was a staple going up and I am sure all of you know this isn't the only remake. The CW came out with a TV show called Riverdale and I will be making a post comparing this to the TV show at the end of the season. I really did love the characters in this book. Archie is hilariously clumsy, as always and Veronica is spot on. The graphics through the first half were gorgeous. As I said in my previous review, I loved when Fiona Staples did half of Volume 1. I think Veronica Fish might have read other people say this, because she really stepped up her game for Volume 2. Though I still prefer Fiona Staples's Archie, I prefer Veronica Fish's Betty and Veronica better.

That brings me to the only problem I had with this. They changed the illustrator three different times in this. And they got steadily worse. I almost didn't read the last issue, because I really didn't like how it was drawn. Now, that isn't because it wasn't good, it was just because it wasn't the characters I had been seeing. And Jughead was barely present in this book. I know I complained about him not staying true to character in Volume 1, but he was in this one for like two pages.

Overall I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. It would have been a 5 star if they had stayed with one illustrator, but I just can't.


Mark Waid

Find Mark Waid online:
Buy Archie Volume 2 online:
Goodreads | Barnes & NobelAmazon


Top Ten and Teaser Tuesday

Top Ten Graphic Novels
Meme Hosted By: The Broke and Bookish

1/30/17

Till Death Book Trailer Review


29772434Title: Till Death
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: William Marrow
Publication Date: February 28th, 2017
It’s been ten years since Sasha Keaton left her West Virginia hometown . . . since she escaped the twisted serial killer known as the Groom. Returning to help run her family inn means being whole again, except for one missing piece. The piece that falls into place when Sasha’s threatened—and FBI agent Cole Landis vows to protect her the way he couldn’t a decade ago.

First one woman disappears; then another, and all the while, disturbing calling cards are left for the sole survivor of the Groom’s reign of terror. Cole’s never forgiven himself for not being there when Sasha was taken, but he intends to make up for it now . . . because under the quirky sexiness Cole first fell for is a steely strength that only makes him love Sasha more.

But someone is watching. Waiting. And Sasha’s first mistake could be her last.


Jennifer L. Armentrout
 Find Jennifer L. Armentrout Online:
Pre-Order Till Death:



It's Monday, What Are You Reading?





It's Monday is a weekly event hosted by Book Date to share with others what you've read the past week and are planning to read the next.

12954620
29780171



 


2148085830163661





24657660




  24485589

 

 

1/29/17

The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It’s a chance to share news.


Last Week On The Blog:




Next Week On The Blog:

  • It's Monday - On Monday
  • Top Ten/Teaser Tuesday - Graphic Noves
  • Waiting on Wednesday
  • January Wrap-Up - Possibly
  • Frigid by J. Lynn Review
  • Stacking the Shelves


My Valentines Bookathon TBR

This is actually a bookathon going on on the Books & Writing Amino App.  If you haven't heard of it click that name and it will take you to it. Miss.Awkward_lovesbooks is hosting this bookathon. There are six categories and all of the books need to have some kind of romance in them. This readathon goes from Feb. 1st - 14th. Which is great, because the 14th is my birthday and I would like to be caught up with my reading before then!

So, here is my TBR:



1. A Classic 
Roseblood by A.G. Howard
28818314
I know, I know, this is cheating. This isn't a classic, it is a re-telling of a classic. But truth? There is no way I am going to be able to read a classic and the other books on this list. Classics take me awhile, they just aren't easy reads for me, so this will have to do. And I am actually going to be listening to this, because I am behind on my Audiobook  Challenge.



2. A Contemporary 
24445517
This was the one I had the most trouble picking, because I have SO many for this category. New Adult Contemporary is one of my favorite genres, so I have a ton of it on my shelf. But I love Colleen Hoover and have heard a lot about this book, good and bad. So it is about time I read it and have an opinion for myself.



3. A LGBTQ+
25164304
This one was my easiest pick. I have been meaning to pick it up since it came out. Now, I will admit, it was also the only LGBTQ+ book I could think of, that really isn't usually what I read. But it also goes for my diverse reading I am doing this year, because I really want a badge to put in my sidebar!



4. Paranormal/Fantasy
24485589
Another easy pick. I need to read this for review anyway, so why not kill two birds with one stone and do it for the readathon.
  


 5. Book Turned into a Movie
27774758 
So the movie is coming out sometime this year and I am like the only person that hasn't read it. For awhile I didn't read it out of protest, because it was supposed to be a standalone and then she just changed her mind. Not that I have anything against series, it was just nice to have a high fantasy standalone and then bam! nope, not today! But I got over it and I will see the movie, so I better read the book so I can be a snob about it when my boyfriend and I go to see it.
  


6. The Group Book
7664334 
I think I have said this before on my blog, but I haven't read a Morgan Matson book. I was supposed to this summer and the great slump hit me and I didn't. And if I am being honest with myself, I probably won't get to this one either. I love contemparay, but this one seems like a summerish book, like all of her books, and that isn't what I want to read in February. I don't know, we will see. I do have this one sitting on my shelf, though, so maybe. 

There you have it. My TBR for the Valentines Bookathon. Are you participating? If so, leave the link to your TBR post/video in the comments! I would love to see what everyone else is reading.



1/27/17

Feature and Follow Friday


This is a weekly blog meme hosted by Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read

 

The Rules:

  • The goal is to increase blog followers, make friends and have something to post.
  • You create your own post using the post prompt.
  • You leave your link and thumbnail in the linky list that links back to your post prompt.
  • Once you have your post up and linked, visit other posts and tell them hi. The point is to FOLLOW them not just comment.
  • If you see a post that just hit it to the moon, or just want to show appreciation to a fellow blogger friend, like their name on the linky list to show some appreciation.
  • The person with the most likes gets chosen as the next Feature (you can be chosen every 90 days unless we are in need of features)
  • It is required that if you participate that you have to follow the FEATURE. It is a big no-no to participate and ignore the feature. They are the special snowflake in this little blizzard.
  • As a participant it is up to your discretion on how you want people to follow. Please post RSS, GFC etc if you have a follow of choice.

Specific RULES:


  • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
  • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed FOLLOW as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  • Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
 
This week's prompt is: What Are Some Tips That Help You With Blogging?
 
This is actually not an easy question, but there are so many. A lot of my tips came from Caffeinated Book Reader. They have a whole series called Tips and Tricks and if you click that name it will take you to that series. Parajunkee has a book blogging 101 series that was a huge help to me, as well. 
 
But the best tip came from Caffeinated Book Read and that was to write your reviews ahead. So have like two or three already written so you don't fall behind. This one has been difficult for me, but I finally got back into the habit.

1/26/17

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes Review


12954620Title: Falling Kingdoms
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Publisher: Razorbill
Format: Paperback  
Publication Date: December 11th, 2012
In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed... and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that's certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It's the eve of war.... Choose your side.


Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people's revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword....



 Falling Kingdoms follow three different characters in three different parts of Mythic. You have Cleo, the princess from wealthy Auranos, that witnesses a terrible murder in a poorer kingdom of Paelsia. Now Jonas, the brother of the boy murdered, will stop at nothing to see his revenge. All the while Magnus, prince of Limeros, longs for his sister in a way a brother shouldn't. While Cleo has to go back Paelsia  to seek help for her ill sister Limeros and Paelsia come together to take over Auranos. And when they capture Cleo they plan on using her as a bargaining chip.

I enjoyed this story as a whole. I loved the characters and how the story was written well enough that it wove their story lines together, eventually. Now this book is often compared to Game of Thrones. Where I haven't read the books, I have watched the tv series. I do see similarties, such as characters and situations, the story is different all together. And even the characters have their own uniquness about them. So I would say I don't agree with the people bashing it for ripping GoTs off, because she really different. Magnus was my favorite character, by far.

Like I said, the story was told in three different point of views. There is a problem I have with most books like this and that is we don't get the full story of any of our characters. For example, in this book, we are given two characters with no hint of anything romantic. Then all of a sudden he kisses her and they are in love and I am left wondering when all this happened. There are also, I feel, some unnecessary deaths in this book. I felt that, at least one, were done purely for the shock factor. It wasn't needed to move the story along, it was just to shock the reader. There is also a moment where Cleo has something that would help save a person dying and doesn't use it, it actually isn't mentioned again, and I felt that didn't make any sense. And this one might not count as a legit complaint, but I strongly ship one pair that I already know isn't going anywhere. Again, not really a complaint, but it is frustrating. Draco and Hermione all over again!

Overall I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good story of YA fantasy.


Morgan Rhodes
Find Morgan Rhodes Online:
Buy Falling Kingdoms:

1/25/17

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


29772863Title: Wires and Nerve
Author: Marissa Meyer

Release Date: Januaray 31st, 2017
In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure -- with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers' leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.
It is a graphic novel following Iko!!!! I can't even explain how excited I am for this book!