5/25/16

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


22429623Title: The Marked Girl
Author: Lindsey Klingele
Release Date: June 7th, 2016
Once upon a time, in a land far, far away (Los Angeles)…

When Cedric, crowned prince of Caelum, and his fellow royal friends (including his betrothed, Kat) find themselves stranded in modern-day L.A. via a magical portal and an evil traitor named Malquin, all they want to do is get home to Caelum—soon. Then they meet Liv, a filmmaker foster girl who just wants to get out of the system and on with her life. As she and Cedric bond, they’ll discover that she’s more connected to his world than they ever could’ve imagined…and that finding home is no easy task…
Okay, so I know this story isn't focused on the girl being a foster kid, but that stuff intrigues me. Plus, this story sounds amazing! Magic in modern day LA, how awesome is that?

5/22/16

Amazon Kindle Deals





I have been browsing the Kindle store and noticed that a lot of good books are really cheap here lately. So I thought I would share my finds. The Kindle app is free on any android device, I am not sure if it is on apple. Sorry. All prices are in USD.


27407564
Price: $0.99
Amazon Link: Obsession


15745753
Price: $1.99 (Expires on 5/23/2016)
Amazon Link: Eleanor & Park


5/21/16

Stacking the Shelves



Weekly meme hosted over at Tynga's Reviews

It has been a few weeks since I had bought any books, but amazon was having a sale on a Jennifer L. Armentrout book and I couldn't pass that up. 


Books I Bought:
274075642339919211569419



Goodreads Links:


Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Rook by Sharon Cameron
Soul Screamers: Volume One by Rachel Vincent 



5/18/16

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


26073074Title:The Leaving
Author: Tara Altebrando
Release Date: June 7th, 2016
Six were taken. Eleven years later, five come back--with no idea of where they've been.

Eleven years ago, six kindergarteners went missing without a trace. After all that time, the people left behind moved on, or tried to.

Until today. Today five of those kids return. They're sixteen, and they are . . . fine. Scarlett comes home and finds a mom she barely recognizes, and doesn't really recognize the person she's supposed to be, either. But she thinks she remembers Lucas. Lucas remembers Scarlett, too, except they're entirely unable to recall where they've been or what happened to them. Neither of them remember the sixth victim, Max. He doesn't come back. Everyone wants answers. Most of all Max's sister Avery, who needs to find her brother--dead or alive--and isn't buying this whole memory-loss story.
This sounds a little bit like The Returned, though I never read that book, I did enjoy the TV adaption of it. Though it doesn't sound like it will have any sort of paranormal mix to it, it does sound like a good mystery.


5/12/16

Archie Volume 1 Review


25852959Title: Archie
Author: Mark Waid
Illustrators: Fiona Staples and Veronica Fish
Publisher: Archie Comics
America’s Favorite Teenager, Archie Andrews, is reborn in the pages of this must-have graphic novel collecting the first six issues of the comic book series that everyone is talking about. Meet Riverdale High teen Archie, his oddball, food-loving best friend Jughead, girl-next-door Betty and well-to-do snob Veronica Lodge as they embark on a modern reimagining of the beloved Archie world. It’s all here: the love triangle, friendship, humor, charm and lots of fun – but with a decidedly modern twist.

Brought to you by some of the masters of the comic book genre, including writer Mark Waid and the all-star lineup of artists: Fiona Staples, Annie Wu and Veronica Fish, the first volume of ARCHIE presents readers with a new take on the beloved Archie Comics concepts while retaining the best elements from the company’s 75 years of history. ARCHIE VOL. 1 collects ARCHIE #1-6 and features bonus content including scripts, sketches, variant covers and the full first issue of the all new JUGHEAD series by acclaimed writer Chip Zdarsky and artist Erica Henderson.





We follow a teen age boy through his life. This must be boring, right? Not for Archie Andrews. We open with a break-up between Archie and his long time girlfriend, Betty. Though neither of them will say more than “the lipstick incident”, nobody knows why these two broke up. And EVERYONE is trying to get them back together. They go as far as to stuff the homecoming court ballet with their names. Will they win or will their friends plan backfire? And what happens when a new girl enters the picture and stirs up everything?

I loved Archie comics when I was growing up. It was one of the things my mother and I had in common. So when I saw that they were redoing the series, I was so excited. And surprisingly, not let down. They have changed the characters quite a bit, but I think that was for the best. They gave them more of a backstory and we really got to know Archie as a character. My major selling point on this series though is the art work. I can’t stop raving about this enough! Fiona Stapes is like a goddess with graphic novels. Though, they did change out artist half way through this edition, I liked all of the art work, but I liked Fiona Staples’s Archie way more. Riverdale has definitely changed and that isn’t really a bad thing. They also dropped @s and #s for the reader to use on social media and actually feel like they are apart of the story, which I think more books should do.

There is one character changed that I didn’t like and that was Jughead. Jughead in the comics, if I remember correctly, was the best pal of Archie and kind of dim. In this one Jughead is actually quite smart and I got the feeling he was trying to sabotage the plan to get Betty and Archie back together. Though that was probably my only problem with this.



Overall, I gave it a 4/5 Stars. If you are looking to stroll down memory lane, this wouldn’t be the book for you, but if you want a re-vamped look at what Riverdale would be like today, pick this up.




Mark Waid
Find Mark Waid online:

Buy Archie Volume 1 online:
                                                                              


5/11/16

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


26156203Title:The Crown's Game
Author: Evelyn Skye
Release Date: May 17th, 2016
Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the Tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the Tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love... or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear... the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.
Oh the amazing world this sounds like it is going to be! I haven't read anything in Russia, but this does look like it will make a good first!


5/5/16

Don't Look Back Review


18296030Title: Don't Look Back
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

 Samantha is back in a life that she doesn't remember and everyone keeps telling her things that she doesn't recall. Like her best friend Cassie, who is still missing, was with her that night that she went missing. Everyone is treating her like a china doll, but soon Samantha sees that she had quite a bit of enemies and can't remember how she got to be the bitch she has become. And it seems like the only people that are telling her the truth is her brother and his best friend Carson, who's family works for Samantha's.

I loved the characters in this book. I know every time I review a JLA book, I rave about the characters, but that is because she does so well with them. Espeically the guys. Carson was amazing and I was really hoping to hear she was doing a second book of this on the brother. The brother was one of my main suspects of killing Cassie through the book, but I was never really sure. That was one thing I loved about this book, instead of the others like it. Usually I guess, but deep down I know exactly who did it from like page one.

A common thing that I don't like in JLA is that the story kind of strings along. Like there are several scenes that I don't feel that are needed to keep the story going a lot of the time, and this story isn't any different. It doesn't bother me enough to effect the star rating, but it was just a bit frustrating when trying to finish a book and there are scenes that aren't needed.




Overall, I am giving this book a 4/5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone that is looking for a good mystery.



Jennifer L. Armentrout
Find Jennifer L. Armentrout online:

Buy Don't Look Back online: