12/29/15

12/28/15

Kanin Chronicles Trilogy Review

18105451Title: The Kanin Chronicles
Author: Amanda Hocking
Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes.

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who's determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She's not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?

This is a review of the entire trilogy. I only put the summary of book one so it wouldn't spoil anything for those who haven't read it.




12/22/15

12/16/15

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



25785357Title: Firstlife
Author:Gena Showalter
Publication Date: Feb. 26th, 2015
ONE CHOICE.

TWO REALMS.

NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…



https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24733600-the-masked-truth


Why I Am Waiting...

I LOVE Gena Showalter, she is one of my favorite authors. This book sounds amazing!

12/15/15

Top Ten Tuesday









Top Ten Characters Books I Have Read In 2015

Meme hosted by: The Broke and Bookish


This one is kind of tough. I have only read about 30 books this year, 20 short of the 50 that was my goal. So picking 10 might not be easy. This isn't in order of best to worst, just in the order I read them.


18746546
1. Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole
It was one of the first books I read this year, picking it up the day it came out, but it was by far the best. I love this series and I love Cole's writing style. It is beautiful and I can't wait until the next book.





18689829

2. Magnolia by Kristi Cook

 This one surprised me. I picked it up after seeing Thoughts of Tomes review on youtube, just because I needed something to read. It was great. It is beautifully written and I loved the story and the characters!





20821111

3. The Young Elites

I listened to this book while I was on light duty for work. It was amazing, but I think it was the audio that made it so great for me. If you haven't read this book, or even if you have, I suggest getting the audiobook to go along with it.




22557520

4.After by Anna Todd

This book was my downfall, reading wise. After reading this book I HAD to go check it out of wattpad. While I was there I ended up reading more fanfiction and got sucked in. But this book is one of my favorite books period.


24920901


5. The Deal by Elle Kennedy

Words can't explain how much I love this book.




18105451

6. Frostfire by Amanda Hocking

This is one of the best YA series I have read. The writing is amazing and the story keeps you plowing through all three books.



20945757

7, 8, 9. 2B Trilogy by Ann Aguirre

I read this complete series, so I guess this goes for 7 8 and 9. They were all equally great.

 

 

20640755 

10. The Book Of Ivy

This is the book I have read most recently, but it has to be the best YA book I have read all year, apart from the Kanin Chronicles. 



12/12/15

Stacking the Shelves!


Weekly meme hosted over at Tynga's Reviews.

Not very many. Christmas is coming up, so I try not to get a lot of books for myself around this time of year.



17788401
Title: Ugly Love
Author:Colleen Hoover
When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.



16115038
Title: Grim
Author: Various
Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today:

Ellen Hopkins
Amanda Hocking
Julie Kagawa
Claudia Gray
Rachel Hawkins
Kimberly Derting
Myra McEntire
Malinda Lo
Sarah Rees-Brennan
Jackson Pearce
Christine Johnson
Jeri Smith Ready
Shaun David Hutchinson
Saundra Mitchell
Sonia Gensler
Tessa Gratton
Jon Skrovon



22609310Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin


 



22609080
Title: After We Fell
Author: Anna Tood
This is the third book in the series, so I will not be putting the summary or the link to this book here.
















12/11/15

The Book of Ivy Review


20640755Title: The Book of Ivy
Author: Amy Engel
Publisher: Entangled Teen
After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him…

Wow, I didn't expect to like this book as much as I did. It has been sitting on my shelf forever. I needed something to read and asked my boyfriend to pick a number and when I counted on my bookshelf, this was the book he had picked. And I am really glad he did, because if not, I probably would have never picked it up and that would have been a shame. Because it was fantastic!




12/10/15

Entangled Teen Wishlist

There are SO MANY good books from Entangled Teen, but I have narrowed my wishlist down to five. And they are the following:

25209521

1. Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout


Now, I am only on Opal, but I LOVE this series and the author. I have read several books by her and she is simply amazing, though I can never put my finger on why. This book is told from Deamon's POV during the first book.



23198876


2. The Revolution of Ivy

 (Clicking the title to this one will take you to the goodreads page for the first book, considering this is the second book in the series.)

I am actually currently reading The Book of Ivy and I really am enjoying it. I know once I finish I won't be able to wait to pick up the next book!





17669243

3. Thief of Lies


I haven't heard anything about this book. I found it while looking at the Entangled Teen website and looked it up and it sounds amazing!



25967369

4. Paint My Body Red


I love mental health issues, which this book is labeled on Goodreads. It also sounds like a mystery.



18593725

5. Will The Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up?


A kickboxer gets to be a stunt double? Yes, please! Kickboxing is something I love and I also love seeing the other side of fame. So this book is bound to be great.