3/24/15

The Body Institute Cover Reveal!

21466668
The Body Institute
Release Date: 09/01/15
Entangled Teen

Summary from Goodreads:
Meet Morgan Dey, one of the top teen Reducers at The Body Institute.

Thanks to cutting-edge technology, Morgan can temporarily take over another girl’s body, get her in shape, and then return to her own body—leaving her client slimmer, more toned, and feeling great. Only there are a few catches...</ span>

For one, Morgan won’t remember what happens in her “Loaner” body. Once she’s done, she won’t recall walks with her new friend Matt, conversations with the super-cute Reducer she’s been text-flirting with, or the uneasy feeling she has that the director of The Body Institute is hiding something. Still, it’s all worth it in the name of science. Until the glitches start...

Suddenly, residual memories from her Loaner are cropping up in Morgan’s mind. She’s feeling less like herself and more like someone else. And when protests from an anti–Body Institute organization threaten her safety, she’ll have to decide if being a Reducer is worth the cost of her body and soul...</ div>


Carol  RiggsAbout the Author
I'm a YA writer represented by Kelly Sonnack of Andrea Brown Literary. My sci-fi novel THE BODY INSTITUTE explores the themes of society, identity, and body image. I live in the beautiful, green state of Oregon and have a Studio Arts degree; I'm an SCBWI member. 

You'll usually find me in my writing cave, surrounded by my dragon collection and the characters in my head. I also enjoy reading--mostly young adult novels--as well as drawing, painting, and quilting. I also attend writing conferences, walk with my husband, and enjoy music and dance of all kinds. </ o:p>





Cover Reveal Organized by:

3/18/15

Get Even Review


16005219

Title: Get Even
Author: Gretchen McNeil
The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies and create dangerous enemies for themselves in the process.

Bree, Olivia, Kitty, and Margot have nothing in common—at least that’s what they’d like the students and administrators of their elite private school to think. The girls have different goals, different friends, and different lives, but they share one very big secret: They’re all members of Don’t Get Mad, a secret society that anonymously takes revenge on the school’s bullies, mean girls, and tyrannical teachers.

When their latest target ends up dead with a blood-soaked “DGM” card in his hands, the girls realize that they’re not as anonymous as they thought—and that someone now wants revenge on them. Soon the clues are piling up, the police are closing in . . . and everyone has something to lose.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button311_zpsdinxuku8.png 







Get Even follows Bree, Kitty, Olivia, and Margot who call themselves DGM. DGM stands for Don't Get Mad. It is a group they formed years ago when they were put together for a project at school and noticed that they had one thing in common. They all had some type of want for revenge. So, over the next few years, they would get their revenge on people they felt have done wrong. Bullies, bad teachers, you name it and the only thing they would leave was the cards that said DGM. Nobody knows who DGM. The girls stay away from each other in public and nobody has suspected them. That all changes when a new classmate is murdered and a DGM card was found at the crime scene. Bree, Olivia, Margot, and Kitty have to find out who did this while keeping their idenities secret, before it is too late.



Okay, this book reminded me a lot of the Burn for Burn books, though it had it's own twists to it. I have read her other book, Ten, and did enjoy it. I do like her writing.


What I Liked:


The Mystery. I love how you keep guessing at who did it. You never do have a definiate answer, because more clues about different people keep surfacing.


The Story. I am a big fan of Burn for Burn and this book has so many similarities. But overall, it is a different story and I really loved the story it told.


“A” like villain. So I haven't read Pretty Little Liars, but I do watch the TV show. This book has an A like villain and I really liked that about it. I have my guesses on who it is, but like with the PLL TV show, I am never entirely for sure.


John. I loved this character. Though at some points, I do suspect him as the guy doing this stuff, but then I am like, no way! This character was amazing.



What I Didn't Like:


Mind Reading. It seemed that everyone also knew what everyone else was thinking. One girl would think something and someone else would say it with no hints at it outside of her mind. It was just rather annoying.


POV. The point of view gets confused a lot. She didn't distinguish them very well and I spent a lot of the time wondering who I was reading.


Olivia's Hair. This really bugged me. At the start of the book she has a pixie cut, but that changes a few times in present day, throughout the book. A few times she will mention it being longer and then go back. I understand that they do tell stories in the past and it is fine for her to have long hair there, but not at a point where she is supposed to have a pixie cut.


Would I Recommend:

Yes, but I would probably recommend you read the Burn for Burn trilogy first and if you wanted more extremely similar to come back to this.

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

WARNING! This book is a third in the series! If you haven't read the first two, this might contain spoilers.

20944389Title: After Dark
Author: M. Pierce
Publication Date: March 24th, 2015
At twenty-nine, Matt Sky is trying to return to normal, having faked his death and come back to life. He and Hannah move to a simple house in the suburbs, and strive to grow their relationship into something durable and honest. They become more and more entangled, in the best ways possible.

At twenty-eight, Hannah finally has the life she's always wanted: she's pursuing her career as a literary agent at Granite Wing Agency, she is writing her first solo novel, and she is living with her hot, passionate lover. For the first time, Matt and Hannah are able to explore intimacy without inhibitions—without lies, secrets, or jealousy—and the results are explosive.

Still life together is not as easy as it seems. Matt is estranged from his brothers in the wake of his cruel stunt; Seth Sky, embittered by his failed pursuit of Hannah, makes a play for Hannah's sister; and the topic of Hannah's novel—her relationship with Matt and the Sky family—is driving a wedge between her and Matt. The lovers are devoted to one another, having come through many ordeals, but is their bond strong enough to last a lifetime?

 photo add-to-goodreads-button311_zpsdinxuku8.png

Wow, these books are coming out so fast. The second book was on my WoW a few months ago. Really excited for the conclusion of this!

3/14/15

Stacking the Sheleves


Weekly meme hosted over at Tynga's Reviews.



4447622
Title: Some Girls Bite
Author: Chloe Neill
They killed me. They healed me. They changed me.

Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but I was doing fine until Chicago’s vampires announced their existence to the world. When a rogue vampire attacked me, I was lucky he only got a sip. Another bloodsucker scared him off and decided the best way to save my life was to make me the walking undead.

Now I’ve traded sweating over my thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan “Lord o’ the Manor” Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed,
four-hundred-year-old vampire, he has centuries’ worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects my gratitude—and servitude. Right…

But someone’s out to get me. Is it the rogue vampire who bit me? A vamp from a rival House? An angry mob bearing torches?

My initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war—and there will be blood.



13310549
Title: Last Kiss Goodnight
Author: Gena Showalter
The breathtaking first novel in New York Times best selling author Gena Showalter’s new paranormal romance series, Otherworld Assassins, featuring a black ops agent who is captured and enslaved…and the beautiful deaf girl who holds the key to his salvation…

THE SWEETEST TEMPTATION…

Black ops agent Solomon Judah awakens caged and bound in a twisted zoo where otherworlders are the main attraction. Vika Lukas, the owner’s daughter, is tasked with Solo’s care and feeding. The monster inside him yearns to kill her on sight, even though she holds the key to his escape. But the human side of him realizes the beautiful deaf girl is more than she seems—she’s his.

THE ULTIMATE PRICE…

Vika endures the captives’ taunts and loathing, hoping to keep them alive even if she can’t free them. Only, Solo is different—he protects her. But as hostility turns to forbidden romance, his feelings for her will be used against him…and he’ll be put to a killer test.




9571401Title: Blood Rights
Author: Kristen Painter
Rebellion has a price.

The lacy gold mapped her entire body. A finely wrought filigree of stars, vines, flowers, butterflies, ancient symbols and words ran from her feet, up her legs, over her narrow waist, spanned her chest and finished down her arms to the tips of her fingers.

Born into a life of secrets and service, Chrysabelle's body bears the telltale marks of a comarrĂ©—a special race of humans bred to feed vampire nobility. When her patron is murdered, she becomes the prime suspect, which sends her running into the mortal world...and into the arms of Malkolm, an outcast vampire cursed to kill every being from whom he drinks.

Now, Chrysabelle and Malkolm must work together to stop a plot to merge the mortal and supernatural worlds. If they fail, a chaos unlike anything anyone has ever seen will threaten to reign.
 




421129Title: Undead and Unwed
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
It'a been a helluva week for Betsy Taylor. First, she loses her job. Then, to top things off, she's killed in a car accident. But what really bites (besides waking up in the morgue dressed in a pink suit and cheap shoes courtesy of her stepmother) is that she can't seem to stay dead. Every night she rises with a horrible craving for blood. She's not taking too well to a liquid diet.

Worst of all, her new friends have the ridiculous idea that Betsy is the prophesied vampire queen, and they want her help in overthrowing the most obnoxious, power-hungry vampire in five centuries - a badly dressed Bela Lugosi wannabe, natch. Frankly, Betsy couldn't care less about vamp politics, but they have a powerful weapon of persuasion: designer shoes. How can any self-respecting girl say no? But a collection of Ferragamos isn't the only temptation for Betsy. It's just a lot safer than the scrumptious Sinclair - a seductive bloodsucker whose sexy gaze seems as dangerous as a stake through the heart...




9464733Title: Beatuy Queens
Author:Libba Bray
When a plane crash strands thirteen teen beauty contestants on a mysterious island, they struggle to survive, to get along with one another, to combat the island's other diabolical occupants, and to learn their dance numbers in case they are rescued in time for the competition.Written by Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again.




16034235Title: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king's champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass--and it's there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena's fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.


9791892

Title: Unremembered
Author: Jessica Brody
Sixteen-year-old Sera is the only survivor of an explosion on a plane. She wakes up in hospital to find that she has no memory. The only clue to her identity is a mysterious boy who claims she was part of a top-secret science experiment. The only adult she trusts insists that she shouldn’t believe anything that anybody tells her. In a tense and pacy novel exploding with intrigue and action, Sera must work out who she is and where she came from. Eventually she will learn that the only thing worse than forgetting her past is remembering it.



20420053
Title: The Forgetting
Author: Nicole Maggi
Georgie's new heart saved her life...but now she's losing her mind.

Georgie Kendrick wakes up after a heart transplant, but the organ beating in her chest doesn't seem to be in tune with the rest of her body. Why does she have a sudden urge for strawberries when she's been allergic for years? Why can't she remember last Christmas?

Driven to find her donor, Georgie discovers her heart belonged to a girl her own age who fell out of the foster care system and into a rough life on the streets. Everyone thinks she committed suicide, but Georgie is compelled to find the truth - before she loses herself completely.



8475505Title: Rebel Belle
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper's destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can't get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she's charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper's least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David's own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y'all beg for more.
 




6043848
Title: The Knife of Never Letting Go
Author: Patrick Ness
Todd Hewitt is the only boy in a town of men. Ever since the settlers were infected with the Noise germ, Todd can hear everything the men think, and they hear everything he thinks. Todd is just a month away from becoming a man, but in the midst of the cacophony, he knows that the town is hiding something from him -- something so awful Todd is forced to flee with only his dog, whose simple, loyal voice he hears too. With hostile men from the town in pursuit, the two stumble upon a strange and eerily silent creature: a girl. Who is she? Why wasn't she killed by the germ like all the females on New World? Propelled by Todd's gritty narration, readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in which a boy on the cusp of manhood must unlearn everything he knows in order to figure out who he truly is.



4134071
Title: Hunted
Author: P.C. Cast and Kristen Cast
What if the hottest guy in the world was hiding a nameless evil, and all he wanted was you? At the start of this heart-pounding new installment of the bestselling House of Night series, Zoey’s friends have her back again and Stevie Rae and the red fledglings aren’t Neferet’s secrets any longer. But an unexpected danger has emerged. Neferet guards her powerful new consort, Kalona, and no one at the House of Night seems to understand the threat he poses. Kalona looks gorgeous, and he has the House of Night under his spell. A past life holds the key to breaking his rapidly spreading influence, but what if this past life shows Zoey secrets she doesn’t want to hear and truths she can’t face?



3/13/15

Modern Monsters Cover Reveal!

Modern Monsters
Release Date: 06/02/15
Entangled Teen

Summary from Goodreads:
Vic Howard never wanted to go to the party. He’s the Invisible Guy at school, a special kind of hell for quiet, nice guys. But because his best friend is as popular as Vic is ignored, he went...
And wished he hadn’t.
Because something happened that night. Something terrible, unimaginable. And now, the victim has told the police that Vic did it. Suddenly, Invisible Vic is painfully visible, walking through halls at school filled with hostility and violence seething just under the surface. Vic is determined to find out what really went down at that party, even if it means an uneasy alliance with the victim’s best friend, the beautiful but aloof Autumn Dixon.

But as Autumn and Vic slowly peel back the layers of what happened that night, they realize that while the truth can set Vic free, it can also shatter everything he thought he knew about his life...


About the Author
"I like unicorns and cats and games...and stuff..." - quality author quote by Kelley

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/content_link/SwLM1WpIHx2CAFRhBwHZHWfERM9Jm31QHOh6zGSznU1SjMJBjJClYzLCb237dMxmKelley York was born in central California, where she still resides with her lovely wife, step-daughter, and way too many cats, while fantasizing about moving to England or Ireland. (Or, really, anyplace secluded.) She has a fascination with bells and animals and Disney. Her life goal is to find a real unicorn. Or to at least write about them. She occupies her spare time with video games,designing covers, playing on Tumblr, and watching anime.

Kelley is a sucker for dark fiction. She loves writing twisted characters, tragic happenings, and bittersweet endings that leave you wondering and crying. She strives to make character development take center stage in her books because the bounds of a person's character and the workings of their mind are limitless.
Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-

32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png</ a>  photo 

icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-

32x32_zps64a79d4a.png


Cover Reveal Organized by:

3/11/15

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



23285823Title:Chase Me
Author: Tessa Bailey
Publication Date: March 17th, 2015
College drop-out, Roxy Cumberland, moved to New York with dreams of becoming an actress, but her dwindling bank account is quickly putting the kibosh on that fantasy. To make some quick cash, she signs up to perform singing telegrams. Her first customer is a gorgeous, cocky Manhattan trust-funder if she ever laid eyes on one. And what could be more humiliating than singing an ode to his junk, courtesy of his last one night stand? Maybe the fact that she’s dressed in a giant, pink bunny costume...

After a night out to celebrate winning his last case, lawyer Louis McNally II isn’t prepared for the pounding in his head or the rabbit serenading him from the front door. But the sassy wit and sexy voice of the girl behind the mask intrigues him, and one look at her stunning face—followed by a mind-blowing kiss against his doorjamb—leaves Louis wanting more.

Roxy doesn’t need a spoiled rich boy who’s had everything in life handed to him on a Tiffany platter. But there’s more to Louis than his sexy surface and he’s determined to make Roxy see it...even if it means chasing her all over NYC.


I love reading about other cities, especially NYC! This author is new to me, but I love the sound of this book.

3/5/15

Dancers in the Dark Review

17622924


Title: Dancers in the Dark
Author: Charlaine Harris
Layla Rue Le May is no ordinary dancer—her partner, Sean McClendon, is a three-hundred-year-old redheaded vampire. When Layla Rue acquires a stalker, she's forced to face the music…and wonder if this will finally be her last dance.
 photo add-to-goodreads-button311_zpsdinxuku8.png 

This book within the book Dead of Night. But I am going to go ahead and review it now, because I don't plan on reading the other book in this until October.


What I Liked:


It was in the Sookie Stackhouse world. The vampires in this book were the same you found in the other books in the SS series. I LOVED that.


The Writing Style. I love Harris's writing. I have been meaning to pick up her other series, because she has a beautiful way with words.


The Plot. I loved the plot of this story. Girl with a dark past gets paired up with withdrawn vampire. It was a great idea.


What I Didn't Like:


Point of Views. It is third person all the way through, but it switches between third person omniscient to third person limited. At first it is limited, only seeing either Rue's thoughts or Seans's. But then all of a sudden you know how both are feeling and what both are thinking and then you get use to that and it switches back. And there was no wearing inbetween. This really bugged me.


The Characters. The characters really weren't developed enough. I couldn't get attached to them, mainly because they didn't feel real to me. Rue was annoying, I really didn't like her. And then all of a sudden she is kissing Sean, and I am like what? How did that happen? There were nearly no clues leading up to that and no building toward it!


The Length. It was just too short. I think she would have had time to develop her characters more if she had written it longer. It was just like 129 pages as it was. The story was very rushed because of this and it just didn't work very well.


The Feeling. The feeling I got while reading this, was that she really didn't care. She didn't take the time to make sure her plot holes were filled or her characters were taken care of. It was like they asked her to write a story, she sat down, and an hour or so later handed them this.


Would I Recommend:


Sadly, no. I hate saying this about a book that takes place in a world that I loved, but I wouldn't recommend this.


3/4/15

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



22465597
Title: Vanishing Girls
Author: Lauren Oliver
Publication Date: March 10th, 2015
Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it's too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.
 photo add-to-goodreads-button311_zpsdinxuku8.png

I have heard some great things about Lauren Oliver, but haven't read anything by her. And this sounds really good! Can't wait to get it.