8/30/14

Broken Symmetry Review




18334136


Sixteen-year-old Blaire Adams can walk through mirrors.

It’s called breaking symmetry. To her, a mirror feels like a film
of honey. She can reach through it, grab things…even step inside.

On the other side she lives every teenager’s fantasy: a universe all her own, zero consequences. She can kiss the hot guy, break into La Jolla mansions, steal things…even kill. When finished, she just steps back into reality and smashes the mirror—and in an instant erases every stupid thing she did. Gone. It never happened.

But breaking symmetry is also dangerous. First there’s the drug-like rush she gets when passing through the glass, like a shot of adrenaline. She suspects it’s degrading her body, making a new copy of her each time. A reflection of a reflection, each one a little hazier. Then, of course, there’s the risk of getting cut off from reality.

When she narrowly escapes a military quarantine zone with the San Diego Police Department hot on her heels only to discover her escape mirror littering the floor in shards, her worst fear is realized. Now, trapped in a broken reflection, she must flee through a mind-bending maze of mirrors, going deeper into the nightmare as she struggles to grasp a betrayal, uncover the chilling truth about her ability, and somehow find a way out of a dead-end universe that “never happened.”

Somehow, she must find a way home.





I will start off by saying that I really did like the overall story. The potential for this book was great! But I really wish he had spent more time revising it, because I felt like I was reading a draft instead of the final product. I am going to try to do this without any spoilers.

We will start with our main character Blaire. I understand she is a teenager, but even at that, this character is unbelievable. I know teenagers jump around with their emotions a lot, but this girl was ridiculous. She was a constant bitch to EVERYONE in the book and then for everyone just to love her and say how awesome and brave she was, when all she ever did was whine and complain was awful. There were also a lot of holes in her character. Like her feelings toward the situation with her dad all flies out the window when Damian enters the picture. You never find out what happens to the officer that was on her dad's case. There was just so much that could have been done to make this a better character. I got irritated with her easily and had to put the book down. It took me awhile to read this, because I couldn't stand Blaire.

Next is Amy. Amy was a character I think he was unfair to. He had Blaire and her hate each other from the get go, which I will admit, can happen with females. But Blaire never really looks at Amy as a human, if that makes sense. Dan Rix tries to get you to hate Amy, but I ended up feeling bad for her. It isn't fun when you are in love with a guy and some other girl just waltz right in and takes over.

Then comes Damian. This character is very flat, like many in this story. Damian is one of the main characters, so he should have been more rounded. Instead he came up very flat and very hard to connect with.

There were a lot of holes in the plot as well. SO many things that weren't followed up on and it seemed as if the author thought about doing something with and then just forgot about. And sometimes when explaining about crossovers it contradicted with what it had said at an earlier time.


Again, I did really like the idea for this book. It was something i had never read before. I just wish he had spent more time on it before publishing it. Because overall the idea and story were great. It was just little things that made it a 2.5 star book for me.

Please note that this is my opinion. You can have your own opinion. I am not saying that I could have written this book better and I am not saying that Dan Rix is a bad author.
 With that said:

What I liked:
- The idea of the story.

 What I didn't like:
 -Blaire's character.
-Characters were flat.
-All the things not followed up on.
-The errors in the writing.
-It got REALLY confusing at times and I wasn't sure what was happening.

 What I would change:
-All the things I didn't like.
-I would change the ending of the book.
-Change Amy's story in the book and the relationship she had with Blaire.

8/29/14

Feature and Follow Friday! #2

Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community.


This week's question:
Tell us about a book character you’d trade places with.

 This question actually had me thinking for quite some time. There are plenty of characters I would love to trade places with. But when it all came down to it, I couldn't think of anyone better than Clary Fray. She is adventures I could only dream of. She has a hot boyfriend and best friend!  She gets to travel to all these beautiful places. She can make up her own runes! She is just amazing!



What was your answer to this weeks f&f question? Leave your blog links below!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list...

8/27/14

10 Minute Makeup Review

Perfect for teenagers and young women who like to try new looks, "10-Minute Makeup" shows 50 versatile looks that can be created in only ten minutes. With detailed information on basic techniques, products, equipment, as well as special tips and tricks from stylist-to-the-stars Boris Entrup, "10-Minute Makeup" shows that anyone can create glamorous runway looks with these easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions and before-and-after shots.


10 minute makeup caught my attention, because I am always looking for quick easy looks for days I might wake-up late for work and don't have much time. Most the time it takes me half an hour or more to get everything on my face. So when I saw this I thought I would give it a whirll.

Within the first couple of pages I had already learned something to make my routine easier. Who knew a spoon could be used for more than swelling of the eyes! This book was full of little secrets like that to help make life easier.

What I liked:
  • All the little secrets that this book had to offer.
  • The way they had a picture to demonstrate everything they were telling you to do.
  • The way they did a complete look before moving on to something else.
  • All the different styles that this book offers.


What I didn't like:
  • They didn't offer many different shades of women.
  • They didn't offer different sizes of women. I know bigger girls usually look for a way to slim their face and this book didn't offer that.


What I would change:
  • To offer all shades and shapes of women.


Will I pick up this book: I got this book from Edelweiss for an honest review. I will probably pick this book up, because it was very helpful for me, minus it's flaws.

This book is at three stars, because I don't feel like every female would find this book beneficial. I know that most of these looks would look great on anybody, but they could have offered more tricks for different kinds of women.




Waiting on Wednesday #2

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.








Title: The Iron Trial

Authors:  Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Publication Date: September 9th 2014

From two bestselling superstars, a dazzling and magical middle-grade collaboration centering on the students of the Magisterium, an academy for those with a propensity toward magic. In this first book, a new student comes to the Magisterium against his will -- is it because he is destined to be a powerful magician, or is the truth more twisted than that? It's a journey that will thrill you, surprise you, and make you wonder about the clear-cut distinction usually made between good and evil.



These are two of my favorite authors! Words cannot explain how excited I am for this book! So many people have compared it to Harry Potter, but some think that's bad. Not me! Maybe it will fill the hole that the seventh book left! So excited! Can't wait!

And lets all take a moment to appreciate this cover! It is gorgeous! So EXCITED!







8/26/14

Top Ten Tuesday! #2

Meme hosted by: The Broke and Bookish

Top Ten books I want to read but do not own yet.
Click on any title to go to the goodreads page to learn more about the book.



 photo ab16aa3b-f682-45df-8928-7840b20486af_zpsc3f2484d.jpg photo darkestminds_zps22f183dc.jpg photo killmyself_zpsaaa53357.jpg photo e47ec039-8f5e-4f3f-b7b1-d0a7c84e22c8_zps40654845.jpg photo Vicious_zpsd2a75cbc.jpg
  1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – I have never read a Neil Gaiman book, but I hear amazing things about them. This book blew up on booktube awhile back and it sounds awesome. I just can't seem to find it in a bookstore.

  2. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken – I have passed this book several times in the store, but always found another book I like a little bit more. Though I really would love to read this book...eventually.

  3. Killing Britney by Sean Olin – I will not lie. The name brought me in on this book. It sounds awesome! I just can't seem to find it anywhere!

  4. Graceling by Kristin Cashore – Another one of those books I have passed in the bookstore several times. Everytime I do, I talk myself out of getting it, thinking I am never in the mood to read it.

  5. Vicious by V.E. Schwab – I really want to read this book. I do. But everytime I am out and about I never remember I really want to read it. So it gets passed up.




 photo 51200eab-6c1f-4ed1-966d-ffd39373951e_zps90d2f0de.jpg photo d0bcffde-2c60-4e61-b570-2614615a7785_zpsf2af5eba.jpg photo 9bc0d3a1-0600-41fe-b9b9-bb0431363da7_zpsf5a825dd.jpg photo 18d53808-c443-43d1-b792-92e50133cc0d_zpsf0cbbc7f.jpg photo 08eac1e4-ee0c-4706-82ee-6529ff5206d4_zpsc2e2fce2.jpg

  1. The Here and Now by Ann Brashares – I loved The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series. This one sounds sooo different. I think I have seen it once in a bookstore and didn't buy it because it was too pricy.

  2. The Taking by Kimberly Derting – This is a fairly new book, so I just haven't been looking for it. Do really want to read it though.

  3. Alienated by Melissa Landers – Another fairy new book and another one that seems to slip my mind in the book store.

  4. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman – I have no excuse as to why I haven't picked up this book yet...

  5. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White – I have seen this book once while shopping. But it didn't have the dust jacket to it and I just couldn't buy it without it.

8/24/14

Foreplay Review





17254035
Title:  Foreplay
Author: Sophie Jordan

Before she goes after the life she’s always wanted, she’s about to find the one she needs.

Pepper has been hopelessly in love with her best friend’s brother, Hunter, for like ever. He’s the key to everything she’s always craved: security, stability, family. But she needs Hunter to notice her as more than just a friend. Even though she’s kissed exactly one guy, she has just the plan to go from novice to rock star in the bedroom—take a few pointers from someone who knows what he’s doing.

Her college roommates have the perfect teacher in mind. But bartender Reece is nothing like the player Pepper expects. Yes, he’s beyond gorgeous, but he’s also dangerous, deep—with a troubled past. Soon what started as lessons in attraction are turning both their worlds around, and showing just what can happen when you go past foreplay and get to what’s real…

So, upon reading the blurb for this book, I didn't think I was going to like it. But I had heard great things about Sophie Jordan, so against my thoughts I picked it up. I am really glad I did.

Pepper  is in love with her best friend's brother. Which is recently single. Pepper needs to make him notice her, but she thinks because she has zero experince in the bedroom, that she will disappoint. So she needs a teacher.

In comes Reece (LOVE THAT NAME!). He is a bartender that Pepper heard would bed anyone. So it is to her surprise that he blows her off the first time. Then when she goes back, she just pours her plan out. And he agrees...

I won't go into anything else, to refrain from spoliers. Even that summary makes this book sound cheesy, but it really isn't. This book is amazing. Jordan is an amazing writer and I really love Pepper's voice. Though sometimes I would love to throw a brick in her face, because she is being stupid, but that is expected some in a New Adult novel.

What I loved:
  • Pepper! I hate that name for this character, because I loved it in Iron man, but I loved this character. She has her stupid moments, but she is a girl and don't we all have those stupid moments. Especially when a guy is involved. I love her thought process through all the things that go on with Reece and Hunter.

  • Reece –Reece is a strong male character. In a lot of NA novels they tend to make the guy overly perfect, and that is something that throws me off. Reece isn't like that. He has his flaws and own problems. Jordan takes the time to let you get to know this character. As Pepper is learning about him, so are we. There is nothing I hate more than a flat character. And Reece is anything but flat. He isn't one of those guys that will take anything either. Most of the time in these books the girl can walk all over the guy and they are all like, okay, that's cool, I still love you. Reece knew what he was getting into, but still didn't let Pepper walk all over him, if that makes sense. Beyond my favorite guy in a book.
  • The Flow – Everything moved so smoothly. It wasn't choppy at all. Jordan knows how to make the transition from one scene to another, which is something very important to a good book.
  • The Emotion – The best way to explain this one would be when Pepper first approaches Reece at the bar. My face was burning red with embarassment the entire time. Every emotion Pepper has, the reader feels it, too.
  • Quick Read – I read this in like one night.


What I didn't like:
  • Nothing


What I would change:
  • I would change things with Hunter. I would have Pepper spend more time with him. I would have liked to see him more in this book.


Would I recommend this:
  • Yes, I would. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good light and fun romance.
Will I pick up the second:
  • Maybe. The second book, Tease, doesn't follow Pepper with her relationship. It splits off to another person in the story.

This is a New Adult novel. It isn't meant for anyone under the age of 18 years old.


8/23/14

Freebies on Amazon! #1

So I was lurking around Amazon before heading to bed and noticed they had a lot of good books for free. I don't know how long these will be free, so grab them while you can! Just click on each title to go to the amazon page and find out more about the book if you haven't heard of them.

 Young Adult

  Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout – SERIOUSLY! This is an amazing book. I just finished it myself and it is really awesome. If you don't own this book, get it free now on amazon. Like run. I seriously don't think this will last long.

 Crush by Lacey Weatherford – This is one of my favorite books. It is about a high school girl that falls for a boy with a huge seacret. And if you think that is clique, it really isn't. This book is like no other. And that ending! But it is free, so go get it and see for yourself!

Celestia Series(Books 1 and 2) by Addison Moore - Now I haven't read these. I just picked them up for myself. But I have heard amazing things about them. And they are free.  


New Adult 

Shattered Promises by Jessica Sorensen The cover of this book did it for me. But the book itself is amazing.

Chasing Nikki by Lacey Weatherford - This is one of my favorite authors. This series is amazing. If you haven't checked it out, you should do so now with such a great deal.

Undeclared by Jen Fredrick - I haven't read this one, but did pick it up. It sounds really good. It's about a girl that is pen pals with a solider while he is away and then falls in love. When the solider gets back he stops contact. 3 or so years later he sets out to find her again.


Adult

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison - Haven't read it, but picked it up. The author really got me. She is supposed to be great. And the summary was good, so it is worth a shot.


Kingdom Collection (Books 1-3) by Marie Hall - Another I picked up. The reviews are good and the author states that these books are not erotica, just an old fashion romance. They look like modern day fairy tale re-tellings.

Those were quite a few. I will try to do this every other week or so. I keep a close eye on amazon's daily deals and freebies.

8/22/14

Feature and Follow Friday!



Feature & Follow is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. The purpose is to meet new people and gain more followers in the book blogging community.



This is my very first Blog Hop, so I hope I am doing this correctly!

This weeks Question:
What book/series do you think would make a better TV show than a movie?


This question could be answered with several series. But I think, for me, I would love to have seen The Ghost and the Goth turned into a TV show. There is just so much you could do with that situation and I loved those characters so much. I would have been ecstatic to see that hit TV screens.


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list...

Day three and four

My allergies have been bothering my eyes really bad, so focusing on a book has been hard. I think I have read 5 pages all together in the past two days. I am hoping tomorrow and the rest of the week are better.

8/20/14

Waiting on Wednesday #1


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Title: Rival
Author:Penelope Douglas
Publication Date: August 26th, 2014

Madoc and Fallon. Two estranged teenagers playing games that push the boundaries between love and war…

She’s back.

For the two years she’s been away at boarding school, there was no word from her. Back when we lived in the same house, she used to cut me down during the day and then leave her door open for me at night.

I was stupid then, but now I’m ready to beat her at her own game…

I’m back.

Two years and I can tell he still wants me, even if he acts like he’s better than me.

But I won’t be scared away. Or pushed down. I’ll call his bluff and fight back. That’s what he wants, right? As long as I keep my guard up, he’ll never know how much he affects me…



This is book 2 in the Fall Away series. It is like a companion novel to Bully. I know my review of Bully wasn't that great, but like I said in that review, I loved Madoc! And this is Madoc's book! And i didn't have anything against Douglas's writing style, so I am super excited for this one.

This one, like the first one, is a New Adult book. It is for 18 and older.

Day Two

Day two was a little bit slow for me. I didn't do much reading, with real life stuff getting in my way. I did, however, get to finish Obsidian. That only put me at a page count of 100 pages for the day, which is 50 less than my goal. I did well Monday, though, so I am not too bummed about it. I will just have to do better as the week moves on.

On a brighter note, Obsidian was amazing! Wow, those last 100 pages were intense. I laughed, I cried, I cried some more, and then I just wanted to punch Daemon in the face really hard. So many feelings in this book!

My TBR might change a little bit. I just get a few new books I might want to read first, but we will see.

8/19/14

Top Ten Books I People Say I MUST Read



Meme hosted by: The Broke and Bookish




 photo 0171392b-0ae9-4da0-b90f-734f9f20bd93_zpsc10c5120.jpg photo b709bca7-1a02-4089-b98a-f865827339df_zps3fd80c61.jpg photo 4cc0a3d9-94a0-4819-a4bd-a3362c241e61_zps15dd38a2.jpg photo 1e7459dc-088d-4975-89b7-7cd1614b9551_zps56bc32e7.jpg photo 1247863c-5441-4fac-8c3f-d2e4dadd97ce_zps58e6efb2.jpg
1. Insurgent by Veronica Roth – I have a friend that LOVES this trilogy. She keeps telling me to move forward in it and I really loved Divergent. But I have been spoiled so much about the last book that I can't possible continue with them, knowing what happens.

2. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – I got this book the day it came out. I was SO excited for it. And I get asked if I read it yet and when I say only the first hundred pages I get hounded to read the rest. I just can't! It isn't that the book is bad or I can't get into it. I just don't want anything bad to happen to the characters I have grown so attached to. Like what if Jace dies?! I couldn't even!

3. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare – I have had several people that read the MI series with me tell me this is a must read. To be honest, I will probably never pick up this series. I love Cassandra Clare, but I don't see myself liking these books.

4. Fangirl (or any book by) Rainbow Rowell – I know I know, it is terrible that I haven't read ANYTHING by this author. I have been dying to read Fangirl since it came out, but I just haven't. I have no excuse!

5. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire – My manager at work has been badgering me to read this book for over a year now. I am not even for sure why I haven't yet. It has been on my TBR shelf for awhile and I would really like to get into it... eventually.


 photo 950ab0b2-5fa9-4050-98e9-e0c02a5c89d6_zps36f52a04.jpg photo bc323f42-3e02-4d2a-8d60-2a2aff2c06ed_zpse8bc5d20.jpg photo 4786cc5c-ab68-4ffb-a96e-cf1520f16734_zps3287944a.jpg photo 0b467b9d-fe23-47df-bde5-41463402b872_zps00cd3c26.jpg photo thost_zps8d37e64e.jpg
6. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – Everyone loves this series and I want to love it, too. I really want to read it. But every time I pick it up I end up putting it down, never in the mood for it. Eventually!

7. The Maze Runner – by James Dashner – Okay, so this is becoming a movie and everyone has jumped on this train. I have the book and I was fully prepared to jump on that train as well, but I hesatated and I think I am going to miss is. I can't get past the author. I don't like James Dashner as a person. I have seen him comment crudley on another blog just because she said she didn't like a book, it wasn't even anything putting the book down. And then I saw it again on another and that has put me off from reading anything by him. I probably won't even see the movie, though I do love Dylan O'Brien.

8. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – Everyone raves about this book. I just haven't had the urge to pick it up. Not even when recommended to.

9. The Selection by Kiera Cass – So this book I pass by on purpose. Everyone says it is great, but I just don't see how great it could be... My personal opinion.

10. The Host by Stephaine Meyers – People say that this book is so much better than Twilight. Now I loved the Twilight Books and I have tried to read this book, but it just won't happen. Not to mention that this thing is massive! I will probably never read this one.

Day 1

So I did make progress in day 1 of the 'bout of books challenge. I did have to work tonight, but Monday's are usually slow at work so I did have a little bit of time to read. I got 75% of the way through Obsidian. I am not for sure how many pages that is, because it is an ebook and I have it set up to show the precentage. But if I did my math right, that is about 250 pages. And that is a hundred pages more than the daily goal I set up for myself. So I think I started out very strong in this challenge.


My thoughts on the book so far? In the words of Katy, Sweet. Baby. Jesus. This book is amazing and I look forward to the rest of the series.

8/17/14

Bully Review



20803953

Title: Bully
Author: Penelope Douglas
My name is Tate. He doesn't call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all.

We're neighbors, and once, we were best friends. But then, one summer, he turned on me and has made it his mission to screw up my life at every opportunity. I've been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to hide from him. I worried about what was around every corner and behind every door.

So I left.

I spent a year studying abroad and bathed in the freedom of life without Jared. Now I'm back to finish up high school and get the hell out of here forever. I'm hoping that after a year of breathing room, he's moved on and forgotten all about me.

But even if he hasn't changed, I have. I'm not interested in avoiding him or turning the other cheek anymore. We're going to go head to head, because neither of us wants to back down.





So I found this book while rating another book. In the comments someone had linked this book and said it was a better version of that book. So I checked it out.

So I am going to start off by saying this could contain vague spoilers
. I won't come out and say THIS HAPPENS, but it might hint at it.

With that being said, I will move on to the biggest issue I had with this book. And that is the bully part. Now I know that is the name of the book, but this guy was awful! I honestly thought it might take a turn for the worst and have the girl be suicidal. In my mind this guy was a monster and there was NOTHING he could do in the end to change that. That he would always be a monster. Nothing that he could have went through that would cause him to do such things to another human being. It didn't even matter to me that he might be in love with her or that he was friends with her before. I don't care if he couldn't hate the person he wanted to, so he took it out on her. He ruined her entire high school life and you can't get that back. So on that fact alone it got two stars.

It gained it's extra start through the heroine. God, I loved her. One of the best female characters I have seen. She was stupid at times, but then again, I had to keep reminding myself that she was only in high school. I don't like how it ended. Maybe I am not a sucker for this stuff as I thought. I would have really liked to see her kick the crap out of him rather than kiss him.

Madoc! Okay, so I know I am supposed to hate him. Which I did. But I loved him at the same time. I hated Jared, no love there. But Madoc was so funny! OMG! He was hilarious. I loved this character. Yes, he was a bully, too, but he was so funny. I couldn't help but like him.

The writing was great. The book I had read before was choppy and rushed, so I was iffy about this one being compared to that. In my opinion the books were nothing alike. Douglas did a great job with the flow of the story and describing the things in Tate's day to day life.

I wanted to give this four stars. Because part of me really wanted to like Jared in the end, but I couldn't. I guess I can't get passed the fact that he ruined so much for Tate. And going into the book named Bully, I should have known that.

This is a new adult novel. Not recommended for anyone under the age of 18.

August TBR

This is my August TBR for the rest of August:

'Bout of Books 11.0 Entry

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

So this is the first time I will be actively participating in this read-a-thon! I am going in excited, but I am afraid I might set myself up for failure. I only have four books, but I also have a busy week at work ahead of me. So wish me luck!

Goals:
I am wanting to read at least 150 days per day.  


TBR: